My Brand Name Day

After reading Dear Jane Samples blog post here: http://dearjanesample.wordpress.com/2008/05/19/fun-with-brands/trackback/ I decided to create my own day as a visual representation of brand names. I’m so shocked at how many things I use.. I say ‘things’ because basically everything you use has a name associated with it. What I also found surprising is how many things I neglected to write down – things such as toilet paper, a brand you really don’t consider – unless that is, you run out!

(Apologies for the lack of formatting to follow!)

07:15

07:45

08:15

08:45

09:15

09:25

12:00

14:30

18:00

20:00

22:30

17 Comments »

  1. stephaniegulley said

    What a great brand timeline! I left toilet paper out my timeline too. :]

  2. foxsden said

    Thank you.. I just realised I left out IE and Firefox too… I just keep thinking ‘if I lived in a 3rd world country what a different picture this would be!’

  3. What a great idea!

    Think I might have to give it a go myself.

  4. Mike Vogel said

    I like that you added the Huggies. Imagine how many brands kids use by the age of 3.

  5. foxsden said

    Hmm good point kid brand timeline would be an interesting one to do actually Mike..

  6. Wes said

    Ha, we both know that the Huggies aren’t for the kid :)

  7. foxsden said

    I’m afraid so.. Kandoo’s are for toilet time you pauper!

  8. Sarah said

    I’ve just had a go at this on paper. It’s going to take sometime to write up… which is rather worrying.

  9. foxsden said

    :-) that’s what I kept thinking.. whats even more worrying is after you read this big long list of brand names you suddenly start thinking about ones you missed – like petrol and toilet paper… they’re the ones that get hidden in your day to day but are very prominent brands.. I’ve thought of about 4 more I’ve missed on mine.

  10. [...] Fox’s brand name day [...]

  11. cat said

    I’m working my way down the meme list and so far people have covered a ton of items. But no blogs.

    I cheated and when with what runs downhill. Mostly. :-)

  12. foxsden said

    Hi Cat, thanks for dropping in but I’m sorry if I’m being dense (I’m not the quickest sometimes) but you’ve completely lost me!

  13. cat said

    Apologies … I visited all the blogs joining in on the timeline / logo / branding meme … David Airey started a list on his blog, Logo Design Love. I have the same on mine (which will explain how I cheated :-)

  14. foxsden said

    Got ya.. I’ll have a look..

  15. mumof4 said

    Love the brand time line. Must have taken you ages??

  16. foxsden said

    You know, what took me the longest was lining those little bugger logos up on the page – and some of them still aren’t cooperating! Thanks for looking

  17. [...] Fox’s brand name day [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

