Using your ipod Shuffle without itunes

I hate items that force me to use them in a predetermined way when there could be another option. itunes just about made me vault myself through the ceiling when it rearranged my entire 30GB music collection and stuffed everything in little files of it’s own. It was like having your mother in law come over and tidy up your knickers drawer for you while you’re at work.

It managed to further enrage me when it refused to allow me to play some music put on my machine from another friends ipod so I went on the hunt for an application of some sort that would allow me to use my shuffle just like a USB. I found many complicated methods of doing this – some of which made rocket science look a breeze but then I found this website where I downloaded a tiny little application, stuck it on my ipod shuffle and now life is good.

Unleash your iPod Shuffle here!

3 Comments »

  1. jade said

    You should try doing 75 gig. It took all bloody day. But I have to say, its made opening my music folder or shuffling through my songs, a whole lot quicker. And now people on Soulseek don’t get grumpy at me for being so disorganised!

  2. foxsden said

    I think I would have warmed to it a little more if I’d used it on a MAC before using it on a PC. Once I got my MAC I understood the logic behind how it likes to organise things.

    I’m afraid I’m just a drag n’ drop girl.. THERE I’ve said what you were all thinking!

  3. […] foxsden wrote an interesting post today on Using your ipod Shuffle without itunesHere’s a quick excerptI found many complicated methods of doing this – some of which made rocket science look a breeze but then I found this website where I downloaded a tiny little application, stuck it on my ipod shuffle and now life is good. … […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

