Wild Animals Shouldn’t Be Wild

Don\'t get close, I\'ll scratch your eyes outWatch this drivel here: Video Link

The news report goes: This little kid was just standing there watching the Peacock at Oregon Zoo when the bird jumped up, grabbed his face and then let go – leaving scratches.

The zoo spokesperson said that the birds have roamed the grounds freely for decades and that it’s unusual for the birds to attack. At which point the reporter asked about 2 other attacks that happened in 2006 – both on kids.

Those times were different, he said. The first kid and the bird both went for the same sweet on the ground and the second kid had been chasing the bird to provoke it.

Mum and Dad are then interviewed and they start laying the drama down about ‘they (the zoo) knew it’d already happened so what are they going to do to stop it happening or if it happens again’ blah blah blah.

That’s right – take your kid to the ZOO, let him sit there having a stare-off with a very large pompous bird and then wonder why little Timmy gets his face kicked in. Lesson: stand back from the animals and give them space. Animals and birds in general mostly do not go out of their way to attack people unless they are protecting their young or themselves. Give them space and they’ll leave you alone!

I hear stories of this tone at work every day – letters that come in stating “I was JUST driving at 4mph when my car left the road, flipped over 15 times and threw all the brand new tyres and rims I just bought off across the field and now they need to be replaced because this is all down to the fact you just resurfaced my road and I got tar on my wheels”…

Ok- highly unlikely… just like the image we’re being fed here that little Timmy was JUST looking at the bird. Not that he was too close to it, or blocking it’s way, or wiggling his sticky grubby fingers at it or feeding his face with an icecream at the time or anything? He just stood there and this attack bird, who has no history of going for anyone before runs over to him and jumps on his face.

It pisses me off because here are people once again looking for someone else to take responsibility for them.

It’s a zoo – most of the animals are caged up – a few are left wandering around so that you don’t totally feel detached from the ambience of being around these magnificent creatures – YOU ACCEPT THAT WHEN YOU WALK IN THERE. Even family pet dogs can be unpredictable sometimes! Use some common sense and stop turning the whole show into a nannystate for god sake.

You’ll be relieved to know they sent all those other pesky Peacocks off to a ‘farm’ and it’s likely that the rest of them will follow. I’ve an idea – why don’t we shoot those bastard lions and gas the bears and duck tape those tricky bugger monkey arses up because we all know how they like to fling their excrement around. And I don’t want no monkey crap in my eyes… I might not be able to see when there’s an attack Chinchilla headed my way.

5 Comments »

  1. Shefaly said

    Very interesting point.

    I once encountered 2 very aggressive – and very hungry since they kept wanting the crisps which I had in my hand – peacocks in the grounds of Blair Castle, up in Scotland. I was eventually so scared by their chasing me round that I sat in the car and shut the door. They roam the Castle grounds freely but something has clearly riled them about visitors.

    Somehow in my head, I have two images: one from my childhood, of peacocks sitting on a turret tower of a college nearby and loudly serenading the clouds; and one is from a zoo, where I saw a white peacock that suddenly fanned out its wings and do a merry little jig. Ah, joy! 🙂

  2. I guess the problem in a lot of cases with these free-roaming birds is that they get fed by the public so they can get a bit aggressive if they see people with food as they think it’s for them. We used to go walking round a lake where we used to live and I would never let ST walk on his own because the geese would come up and try and peck at your hands. I used to power walk the buggy past them! But you would see people with toddlers holding bits of bread supposedly to feed them, but not having any clue what they were doing and trying to eat it themselves, as toddlers do, and of course the geese would be right there in their faces.

  3. foxsden said

    Shefaly – thanks for reading – I’d never seen a white peacock until I was looking for a picture for this post.. really beautiful. Did you throw the crisps at them and run? 🙂

    Suburban..I think you’re exactly right about them associating visitors with food…and they are quite arrogant birds to start with.

  4. Lindy said

    We let them roam at our zoo too. I actually came across a group of people one morning all carrying loads of the beautiful tail feathers. I asked them where they got them & a woman in the group said she plucked them. A little farther down the trail I came across the peacock she plucked them from. He was standing in a corner, scared to death making a sad little whimpering noise. His tail was bald & bloodied. I’m constantly reminding parents & little ones that are chasing them around that they are WILD animals & will attack. Stupid, cruel people. Sometimes I wish the animals got their chance to pluck them back.

  5. foxsden said

    Lindy that is absolutely shocking… I hope you grassed her up…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

