Of Squid And Countryside Ramblings

I noticed they had ‘squid tubes’ on the fresh fish market in town so I bought one. It resembled a hat belonging to a Klu Klux Klan member without the eye holes. Measuring about 6″ in length and about 3″ across, I figured I’d cut it into rings and fry it in sweet chili sauce for dinner later. I love calamari rings when we go to restaurants but I’d never tried them at home before. The lady wrapped it in paper and placed it in a bag with 2 Sea Bream fish I purchased.

Town was packed with everyone trying to ram their way through the crowd with bags and push chairs. I didn’t stay for long before hopping on my scooter and heading home where I spent the remainder of the afternoon pottering around in the garden.

I barbequed the Sea Bream while sitting on the patio looking out over the valley, sipping a Gin & Tonic. Marvellous stuff, I thought. It’s times like these I really wish this country wasn’t so profoundly shit with it’s housekeeping and weather.

Later we ended up going for a walk around the woods and fields and while we strolled down a narrow lane through which a river runs Wil said ‘sometimes the scenery is so amazing that you just can’t take it all in’. I agreed and found it even more frustrating that I could not capture the exact atmosphere of that scenery with my inferior camera. That is when it dawned on me that I’d forgotten to cook that squid for dinner.

“What are these hoops?” Cameron asked at the table this evening, holding one up to the light on the end of his fork with a quizzical expression.

“Squid head” I replied, chewing a small piece in my mouth, “I think I prefer the tentacles fried in batter, do you remember we had those at that restaurant?”

Wil nodded, gripping one end of a hoop in his teeth and pulling it away with the fork. It snapped like an elastic band and recoiled into his lip.

Cameron finished chewing

“I think I’d prefer the testicles too”

2 Comments »

  1. Joker said

    Squid testicles……. to add in their own ink would be overkill right?

    Just checking. 😀

  2. foxsden said

    Quite possibly! 😎

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

