If You Don’t, You MUST!

I found these on the shelf when I went shopping a few months ago and we’re addicted. Peppadews are little piquanté peppers about the size of cherry tomatoes. They are fresh and crunchy and soaked in a lovely sweet water. At the moment there are two varieties. Mild and Hot. The mild ones are not hot but quickly and gently brush your mouth with little bite before disappearing – even Cameron will eat them without wincing and the hot ones aren’t killer either.

Anyway, we went for dinner at the Vegetarian Restaurant near here a week or so ago and they had a Red Pepper and Peppadew Hoummous on the menu.

I ordered it and between Wil and myself it lasted all of about 4 mouthfulls. GORGEOUS. So gorgeous that I had to come home and try to replicate it.

I used:

1 Red Bell Pepper – Sliced and grilled until blackened
1 Can Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans) rinsed and drained
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried Oregano
1/4 tsp Cumin powder
6 or 5 Peppadew peppers
1 tsp lime juice
1 flat teaspoon Tahini Paste*
Salt to taste

(These measurements are rough because I didn’t exactly document them as I went)

*I didn’t have any Tahini Paste which is a paste made from sesame seeds. However, I did have some sesame seeds and some sesame seed oil. So I used random quantities of seeds and sesame oil and smashed it into a paste in my pestle & mortar. How Jamie Oliver do I sound now eh?

Ok – Basically stick the the lot in a blender and whizz it. You may need to add a little drop of water to give it a smoother consistency.

We ate it with poppy seed crackers and sticks of carrot and celery although when we had it at the restaurant they served it with pitta bread which was really good. It took 10 minutes to make it and 5 to eat it. Luvley jubbley.

2 Comments »

  1. ooh get you! I love hoummous AND peppers – roasted red pepper hoummous from tesco is one of my faves…. I may have to try this too!!

  2. Foxsden said

    Greer, it’s so easy it’d be rude not to!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

