Scar Tissue – Anthony Kiedis

I’ve just finished reading Anthony Kiedis’ autobiography. His super-buff physique, sweet face and sexy smile could lead you to think he’s a bloke who clearly takes good care of himself. You certainly wouldn’t think he’s struggled the majority of his 46 years with a RAGING Heroin and Cocaine habit. Basically if it goes in a needle or if it can be inhaled he’s been there.

The book starts off in Anthonys childhood and disturbingly explains how his father introduced him to the world of sex, drugs and rock and roll. The rock and roll bit obviously turned out pretty good but the journey along the way is sometimes harrowing to think of when you remember he’s only a child. I found the book really hard to put down.

That said, it does fall into a bit of a ‘finished an album, split up with this girl, got loaded’ reportoir in one or two parts but even then I found myself tearing through the pages to see if he might make it this time.

Part of the best bit for me was reading all about the structure of the band. I never knew how many guitar players and drummers they went through before they got to where they are today. It was also interesting to learn about the influences behind the songs and the lyrics. He’s written it in such a blunt and uncensored manner. He really does come across as a down to earth bloke who’d open a door for you.

Clearly a very talented man, a very interesting book (even if you’re not a RHCP fan) and a great cover to flank the nightstand of any brunette, buff, tattooed bad-boy appreciator.

7 Comments »

  1. Auntie Christ said

    Not as buff as Henry Rollins, though, which is probably a good thing. Have you ever read White Bicycles? That’s on my list. Different era.

    I can’t find Mojo magazine lately….miss it.

  2. Foxsden said

    He’s not my bag… he looks like an old boy in the face. Is White Bicycles his Autobiography?

  3. Auntie Christ said

    No, it’s about Joe Boyd producing folk/psychedelic and rock in England in the 60s and 70s…more my cup of tea.

  4. dearjanesample said

    ooooh, that book sound interesting. thanks for sharing

  5. I love a little bit of AK myself – have always loved the RHCPs… may have to get this 🙂

  6. mrs hojo said

    sigh, I had to google him ;o)love the music just have no clue who is singing it…I live under a rock y’see
    xc

  7. Foxsden said

    He’s LURVLEY! I can’t believe you didn’t know who he is Mrs Hojo!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

