Kids These Days

Camerons bedroom is a heap. There isn’t even a path from the door to the bed so when he announced he was off out to play I reacted with ‘yeah, after you clear that bomb site up’.

He promptly ran upstairs and did his usual token effort of shoving everything under the bed and in piles in the corners and declared the job done. As I entered the room and began pointing out all the bits he missed, his friend H came to the door to call for him.

Cam let his friend in and when they returned to the bedroom I left stating that since H is a very tidy boy maybe if Cam was to ask nicely H would help show him how it’s done.

As I returned downstairs I heard the boys chatting

Cam: ‘Since YOU’RE so tidy H’ Cam mimicked.. ‘Your bedroom is always SUPER tidy though H’

H: ‘Yeah well, that’s cos my mum tidies it up!’

Marvellous….!  Do kids do anything for themselves? Shouldn’t kids be brought up to clear up their own mess?

Twice a year while Cam is away in the states I go into his room and do a mass clear out but that’s only so I can get in there and get rid of all the tat he won’t get rid of when he’s here! I wouldn’t dream of tidying his room on a daily or weekly basis.

You create the mess, you clear it up!

3 Comments »

  1. nadia said

    And I agree. Teach them how to take care of their own responsibilities while they’re still young.

  2. foxsden said

    That’s my thought too Nadia. Im beginning to realise a lot of mums keep their kids very dependent on them, these are the same mums who still don’t want their kids to move out when they’re 28. I figured my job was to raise an independent confident person who will go out in the world and do amazing things. Not some 30 year old limpit who is sat at home letting me wash his clothes for him!

  3. OMG I TOTALLY AGREE! My girls are 2 and 4 (practically) and Rowan has been tidying up after herself every day since she was about 10 months old. We used to walk around the room before bathtime saying ‘bedtime for toys’ and put a few things in her toy box together.

    I am a firm believer in it – you create the mess – you clear it up!

    Yup yup yup!! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

