1 Hour Enduro Race – Langdon Hills Country Park

Wil and I took part in a 1 hour Mountain Bike Endurance Race in Essex today.

For a change we were on time, organised, well trained and fighting fit. Everything went smoothly including the trip down to Southend.

The course was 6.5k (just under 4miles) through woodland and fields consisting of narrow very rooty trails with a mixture of gravel and sand under tyre. The hills were plentiful, vertical, long and winding and ripped into sections by large tyre eating cracks that were difficult to avoid in places. The descents were also very rooty and closely hugged by trees and overhanging branches but also offered beautiful smooth fast twisty singletrack which, according to my heart rate monitor I managed to max 25mph down!

On the first lap I was frustratingly held back by all the junior and non-serious competitors who promptly all failed and clambered off their bikes to push up the first hill. Despite many of these idiots blocking the path somehow I managed to keep pedalling eventually dropping a load of them behind. Much of the first half of the first lap was plagued with people who clearly hadn’t trained or were on inappropriate bikes and they became moving obstacles who would either block the route past or go so slowly you were stuck behind until an appropriate passing place. For once I felt smug for all the training effort I’d put in – it was really paying off.

Then about 3/4 of the way around the first lap there appeared a familiar orange and white jersey in front of me pushing his bike along the side of the trail. Ruling out any serious injury given the fact he was walking ok I noticed Wil’s back tyre was flat. I jumped off my bike and offered it to him but he declined, instead urging me to get on with my race. So I went.

The second lap was better – now knowing where all the technical tricky parts of the course were and missing most of the kids who’d bailed out after the first lap I was able to really hammer around. That said the first lap of hellish hills had taken a toll on my legs which were burning like mad on every incline. My heart rate monitor frequently beeped as I reached 99% of my max heart rate!

The second lap felt strong but the third felt quicker as I passed another girl in my category on an incline and then left her behind to cross the finish line in 1:16 by my watch.

Unfortunately there was a glitch with the timings which meant no one got to find out their times and positions and there was no podium today. Hopefully timings should be put on their website tomorrow night – so fingers crossed, I’m really hoping for a good result this time. Ranking bottom third is not worthy of eating one’s own exploded lungs 3 times over.

5 Comments »

  1. mrs hojo said

    wow, very impressive! well done :o)

    xc

  2. Vic said

    Just saw your tweet on your placing – well done.
    I used to hate it when people who couldn’t make it up those hills on their bike blocked the track from those of us who could. I always felt a bit guilty shouting at the young-uns to get out of the way though.

  3. urbanvox said

    U probably did well.. 🙂
    I couldn’t finish my last race… Vic took me to it about 5 years ago…
    busted knee… not very fun… Weeeeeellllll… 🙂

    u gonna be at the rat race in London???
    (www.ratraceadventure.com)

    😉

    • Foxsden said

      Just had a look at the Rat Race – looks like good fun for a group. I’d never heard of it – are you going in for it?

  4. Foxsden said

    Thanks Hojo!

    Yeah it was hard Vic because Im glad kids are out there giving it a go but they just shouldn’t have been thrown in with the serious competitors. I emailed the race directors pointing it out and they said they’ll not do it that way next time. So that’s good!

    Busted knees are supercrap…. WHat happend Vox?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

